Click on a question to jump to the answer:
What are Clips?
Clips are 40-second video clips of driving footage that are saved to your phone and your Nexar Cloud. These clips are automatically created when the app detects dangerous events or collisions on the road.
See something really cool during your drive that you’d like to keep but it was automatically detected and saved?
You can either create a manual clip by tapping on the app’s screen while the drive is being recorded or you can create a manual clip after you’ve completed your drive. (For information on creating a manual clip from an interior facing camera, click here.)
What are Drives?
When using the Nexar app, you’ll notice two categories - “Drives” and “Clips.” Drives are exactly as they sound - they are recent recordings of your full drives. At the end of every drive, you’ll see a screen that summarizes the drive - it will include a video, a map of the drive, and start and stop times of the drive.
Full drive videos are automatically deleted based on available free space on your phone.
If you’re using Nexar with a compatible dash cam in background mode, you won’t be able to see your full drive videos, only your clips (but don’t worry, this is coming soon).
How can I upload a Clip to the Nexar Cloud?
Whenever a clip is created, it is immediately uploaded to your Nexar Cloud in full HD quality over 4G, through the use of cellular data.
How can I upload a Drive to the Nexar Cloud?
Full drives are uploaded to the Nexar Cloud as time-lapsed videos, on a best effort basis, when your phone is connected to a WiFi network.
If I delete the app, what will happen to the recorded drives in the app?
When deleting the Nexar app, all videos in the app will be deleted. Don't worry, you have them stored in your cloud and they can be accessed through your online Cloud. We recommend double checking that any videos you’d like to keep have been uploaded to the cloud before deleting the app.