Discover how Nexar is designed to efficiently back up your drives in multiple residencies for Nexar Pro, Beam, NEXC1, NEXC2, and NEXS1
What's in this article?
If you own a Nexar One, click here.
We call the places where your videos are stored "residencies". Having more residencies increases the chances of recovering your videos.
There are three residencies where your drive recordings are saved:
The Dash cam's Internal Memory
The Nexar Pro, Beam, NEXC1, and NEXS1 have a detachable SD card. The NEXC2 dash cam has a built-in 128GB storage.
Your Nexar dash cam will record as soon as it starts receiving power. Drives are saved in the dash cam's internal memory even if your phone is not paired or connected. Once full, old drive recordings are deleted to make space for new drives.
Drive recordings are saved to the Nexar app as long as your phone is connected via WIFI and Bluetooth and the app stays open throughout the drive. You can start to streaming videos to the Nexar app automatically or by tapping the Stream button on the home screen.
By default, the Nexar app reserves 50% of your phone’s storage to save videos, but this can be changed depending on your driving needs. When Nexar app's allocated phone storage is full, older videos are replaced with newer ones.
About Drives and Clips
You will see two types of videos when using the Nexar app: Drives and Clips.
Drives are videos of your entire journey. They are saved in the Nexar app's Videos tab. They are useful for playback or as evidence for insurance claims. The Nexar app will automatically delete drives to free up space on your phone.
You need to create a Clip in order to share Drives from the Nexar app. Clips are automatically saved to the Nexar Cloud so you can watch it anytime and anywhere you want.
Clips are shorter parts of Drives saved on both your phone and Nexar Cloud.
Clips are created when the Nexar app detects events such as hard brakes or collisions while you're driving. You can also create Clips manually while driving or after you’ve completed your drive.
To share a Clip online, use the Share button on the Clip Summary screen in the Nexar app.
Automatic Clips are uploaded to the Nexar Cloud in real-time through cellular data as long as the phone is connected to your Nexar dash cam when the event takes place. Clips you made yourself in the Nexar app are backed up to the Cloud through WIFI or cellular data.
Nexar Cloud-saved Clips are there permanently. Deleting these Clips in the Nexar app will also delete the videos in the cloud forever.